Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee - 2010

disclaimer | 2011 edition | (page updated November 26, 2010)

DLCC  || RSLC Organization

Board of Directors

22 Democratic state legislative leaders including:

Chair Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal (IA)

Vice Chair Senate President Sylvia Larsen (NH)

Treasurer Representative Mike Gerber (PA)

Secretary Speaker of the House Margaret Anderson Kelliher (MN)

Finance Chair House Minority Leader Ward Armstrong (VA)

Chairman Emeritus Senate President Thomas V. "Mike" Miller, Jr. (MD)


Executive Director Michael Sargeant

Executive director since 2007; earlier served as national political director starting in 2004; joined the DLCC in 2001 as a political director. Before joining the DLCC, Sargeant was the Tennessee House caucus director. He has also managed campaigns at many different levels. Degree from St. John’s University. New Jersey native.

Research Director and Senior Advisor Karen Noonan

Joined the DLCC in Jan. 2002. Master's in political science and has completed coursework for a Ph.D. in political science. Has worked at research and polling firms and taught classes at the University of Washington. Native of Vancouver, WA.


National Political Director John Winston

Prior to joining the DLCC in 2005, Winston spent nearly a dozen years on the road working on or managing campaigns across the country. Bachelor's degree from Virginia Commonwealth University; Master's degree from The George Washington University. Native of Richmond, VA.

Political Director Owen Shackelford

Joined the DLCC in 2007. Previously served as executive director of the Oklahoma Senate Democrats for three years. Owen has also served as the legislative administrative assistant for state Sen. Stratton Taylor, President Pro Tempore of the Oklahoma Senate. Campaign manager for the successful Boren for Congress campaign.

Political Director Emily Passini

Prior to joining the DLCC in January 2010, Passini worked at a consulting firm managing public relations and grassroots campaigns in numerous states across the country. Campaign director for the Tennessee House Democratic Caucus in 2006. Deputy political director for the New Jersey Democratic Assembly Campaign Committee in 2005. Worked two years in Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen’s administration as the Special Assistant to the Commissioner of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities. Bachelor’s degree from Rhodes College and Master’s degree from the University of Memphis. Native of Little Rock, AR.

Political Director Jessica Post

Before joining the DLCC in 2010, Post directed legislative grassroots advocacy programs as a consultant for Anheuser-Busch. In 2008 she served as field director for the Minnesota DFL Coordinated Campaign (Al Franken and the DFL ticket) and through the ensuing recount. Post has worked in more than 20 states on electoral, grassroots advocacy and ballot initiative campaigns, including a cycle as deputy caucus director for the Minnesota Senate DFL Caucus. She began her career managing a state representative campaign in rural Missouri. Graduate of Truman State University. St. Louis native.

Political Assistant Whitney Denton

Joined the DLCC in March 2009. Previously worked on the Obama for America campaign in Indiana. A legislative assistant in the Oklahoma State Senate for former President Pro Temp Mike Morgan and interned for the Oklahoma Democratic Party. Oklahoma native


Communications Director  Carolyn Fiddler

Prior to joining the DLCC in May 2010, Carolyn was director of external affairs at Media Matters for America. She graduated from the University of Arkansas with a B.A. in international relations, European studies, and political science, and she received her J.D. from the the College of William & Mary. Prior to law school, she worked for the Democratic Party of Virginia, where she served as deputy finance director and later as communications director. During law school, she interned with Virginia Delegate Jim Scott and drew political cartoons for the school paper. Carolyn is a native of Warsaw, Virginia. (succeeded Matt Compton)

Communications/Research Assistant  Nathan Thomas

Prior to joining the DLCC in 2009, Thomas worked on the writing staff of the Mack Crounse Group. He is a veteran of the 2008 Iowa Caucuses and later joined the field staff of Don Cazayoux’s successful special election campaign for Congress in Louisiana. Started as an intern for the 2006 congressional campaigns of Nick Lampson and Dan Maffei. Graduate of Syracuse University in New York. Native of New Orleans.


Director of Operations Elizabeth (Lizz) Gramling

Joined the DLCC in 2007. Prior to that, she spent two years as the office manager at John Kerry's Senate re-elect committee and leadership PAC. Previously worked in the Voter Contact & Targeting Department at the DNC. From Burlington, NJ.


Finance Director Heather Johnk

Joined the DLCC in 2005 as the director of financial services. Johnk has worked extensively in Iowa politics, including time as finance director for the Iowa Senate Democratic Caucus. From the Twin Cities area of Minnesota.

Finance Associate Megan Hannigan

Joined the finance team in 2009. B.A. from Miami University in Oxford, OH, 2009. Interned with the DLCC in summer 2008 and has also worked for Sen. Sherrod Brown (OH). Originally from Arlington, VA.