PRESS RELEASE from Romney for President


CONTACT: Romney Press Office

February 6, 2012

Boston, MA – Mitt Romney today announced additional Maine elected officials supporting his campaign.
“I am proud to have such a strong backing by elected officials and leaders from across the state of Maine,” said Mitt Romney. “Their support proves that my pro-growth message is breaking through and that Maine voters want someone with real world economic experience in the White House.”
Announcing his endorsement of Mitt Romney, Maine Senate President Kevin Raye said, “In order for the economy to rebound, Washington needs to stop erecting roadblocks for job creators. Mitt Romney understands the importance of strengthening small business and American manufacturing.  As President, he will lead the way to rein in the federal debt, reverse the explosive growth of government, and reduce the regulatory burden on America’s businesses to foster an environment that is favorable for job creation. That is why I support Mitt Romney, and why so many other Maine leaders are endorsing his campaign.”
Maine Elected Officials and Leaders Endorsing Mitt Romney:
·         Bruce Poliquin; State Treasurer
·         Kevin Raye; Senate President
·         Nichi Farnham State Senator
·         David Hastings; State Senator
·         Roger Katz; State Senator
·         Brian Langley; State Senator
·         Tom Martin; State Senator
·         Garrett Mason; State Senator
·         Earle McCormick; State Senator
·         Christopher Rector; State Senator
·         Tom Saviello; State Senator
·         Cary Weston; Mayor of Bangor
·         Peter Mills; Former State Senator
·         Philip Harriman; Former State Senator
·         Mark Gartley; Former Secretary of State
·         Kathy Watson; Former Maine Republican Party Chairwoman
·         Jim Fossel; Augusta City Republican Chairman
·         Angela Courchesney; Jay Town Republican Chairwoman
·         Dawn  Gilbert; Lincoln Town Republican Chairman
·         Dwayne Bickford; Former ED of Maine GOP
Maine Elected Officials And Leaders Endorsing Mitt Romney:

·         William Schneider; Attorney General
·         Peter Cianchette; Former U.S. Ambassador
·         Dave Emery; Former U.S. Congressman
·         Jon Courtney; Senate Majority Leader
·         Ron Collins; State Senator
·         Richard Rosen; State Senator
·         Lois Snowe-Mello; State Senator
·         Bruce Bickford; State Representative
·         Richard Cebra; State Representative
·         Dean Cray; State Representative
·         Stacey Fitts; State Representative
·         Leslie Fossel; State Representative
·         Ken Fredette; State Representative
·         Peter Johnson; State Representative
·         Jim Donnelly; Former House Republican Leader
·         Josh Tardy; Former House Republican Leader
·         Rick Bennett; Former Senate President & RNC National Committeeman
·         Jan Staples; RNC National Committeewoman
·         Charlie Cragin; Former National Committeeman 
·         Maureen Cragin; Retired Naval Captain and former Assistant Secretary of Veterans Affairs for Public and Intergovernmental Affairs
·         Doris Russell; Former National Committeewoman
·         Hattie Bickmore; Former Maine Republican Party Chairman
·         Mark Ellis; Former Maine Republican Party Chairman
·         Steve Abbott; 2010 Republican Candidate for Governor
·         Jason Levesque; Former 2010 Republican Candidate for Congress
·         Tim Woodcock; Attorney and former Republican Candidate for Congress
·         Chris Gardiner; Washington County Chair
·         Howard Bickford: Wilton Town Republican Chair
·         David Coleman; Limerick Town Republican Chair
·         Gerald Morrison; Perry Town Republican Chair
·         Pat Percy; Phippsburg Town Republican Chair
·         Janet Plausse; Lincolnville Town Republican Chair
·         Jonathan Reisman; Cooper Town Republican Chair
·         George Sanborn; Poland Town Republican Chair
·         Glyneta Thomson; Surry Town Republican Chair
·         Ben Gilman; 2008 Maine State Victory Director
·         Ann Robinson; Co-Chair, Transition Team for Governor-Elect Paul LePage
·         Kathy Summers-Grice;  General Consultant to the Maine Senate Republican Caucus
·         Halsey Frank
·         Merton Henry