PRESS RELEASE from Romney for President


CONTACT: Romney Press Office

March 13, 2012

Boston, MA – Mitt Romney today announced his Agriculture Advisory Committee.
“Our country’s farmers and ranchers provide the most abundant, safest, and affordable food supply of any country in the world,” said Mitt Romney. “Not only do they feed our country, they also are responsible for feeding billions of people across the world. They provide jobs for millions of Americans and are an integral part of our economy. Along with these leaders in agriculture, I will work to ensure that our food supply will remain steady, safe, and affordable for our citizens.”
Announcing the formation of the Romney Agriculture Advisory Committee, Nebraska Senator Mike Johanns said, “As a former Secretary of Agriculture, I know the important role of our farmers and ranchers in maintaining both a healthy economy and an affordable food supply. Governor Romney understands that agriculture is a key source of strength and stability for our economy, and he is committed to maintaining our country’s strong farming heritage. The advisory committee looks forward to providing counsel in this area in the coming months and to welcoming a new era of agricultural policy under a new president.”
Romney For President Agriculture Advisory Committee:
Co-Chair, Senator Mike Johanns- U.S. Senator from Nebraska (2009-present); Secretary of U.S. Department of Agriculture (2005-2007); Governor of Nebraska (1999-2005).
Co-Chair, Commissioner Adam Putnam- Commissioner, Florida Department of Agriculture (2011-present); U.S. House of Representatives from Florida (2001-2011).
Greg Ibach- Director, Nebraska Department of Agriculture (2005-present); Owner/Operator of GTI Inc., a cow/calf and diversified crop farm in central Nebraska (1984-present).
Chuck Conner- President and CEO, National Council of Farmer Cooperatives (2009-present); Former Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Agriculture; Indiana Farmer.
Bill Even- Co-owner, Even Family Farms; South Dakota Secretary of Agriculture (2007-2010); Director, South Dakota Governor's Office of Economic Development (2006-2007).
Randy Russell- President, The Russell Group, formerly Lesher and Russell (1986-2011); Chief of Staff to Secretary of Agriculture John Block (1985); Deputy Assistant Secretary for Economics, U.S. Department of Agriculture (1984); Vice President for Agriculture and Trade Policy, National Council of Farmer Cooperatives (1982-84).
AG Kawamura- Founding member, Orange County Produce, LLC; Co-Chair, Solutions From the Land Dialogue; Secretary, California Department of Food and Agriculture (2003-2010).
Katie Smith- Director, Missouri Department of Agriculture (2007-2008).
Al Montna- Chairman U.S. Rice Federation (2006-2008); President, California State Board of Food and Agriculture (2003-2010); Owner, Montna Farms.
Chris Policinski- President and CEO, Land O'Lakes; National Council of Farmer Cooperatives (2005-present); National Milk Producers Federation (1999-present); Grocery Manufacturers Association (2005-present).
Tom Nassif- President and CEO, Western Growers (2002-present); Reagan Administration:  Deputy Chief of Protocol, U.S. Department of State (1981-1983); Deputy Assistant Secretary for Near East and South Asian Affairs (1983-1985); United States Ambassador to the Kingdom of Morocco (1985-1988).
*Company/business names are provided for identification purposes only.