PRESS RELEASE from Romney for President


CONTACT: Romney Press Office

March 16, 2012


Boston, MA – Mitt Romney today announced Puerto Rico leaders supporting his candidacy. In addition to the solid support of Governor Luis Fortuño and other NPP leaders, Héctor O'Neill, Mayor of Guaynabo and President of the Mayors Federation is backing Mitt Romney.
“I am pleased to have so much support in Puerto Rico,” said Mitt Romney. “Puerto Ricans exemplify the best of America: they are patriotic, industrious, and value family. My plan to revitalize our nation’s economy will be critical to growth and job creation in Puerto Rico and I am pleased to be able to work toward this goal with great leaders like Governor Fortuño.”
“Mitt Romney is the best candidate to reenergize Puerto Rico’s economy and continue the creation of jobs on the island,” said Governor Luis Fortuño. “We welcome Mitt and Ann to the island of enchantment. We are extremely committed to his campaign so that together we can bring his pro-growth message to the people of Puerto Rico so they can learn his plans and ideas to improve the quality of life of all Puerto Ricans.”
“We need a new direction and new leadership in Washington,” said Zoraida Fonalledas, National Committeewoman of the Puerto Rico Republican Party. “Mitt Romney has been a successful leader his entire life and is the right person to lead our country at a time when our economy is struggling. Mitt was a successful businessman who helped start companies, saved the Olympics from scandal, and brought fiscal sanity to his state as governor. That is why I strongly support his campaign and it is why Puerto Ricans should support him on Sunday.”
Mitt Romney’s Endorsements from Puerto Rican Leaders and Elected Officials:
·         Governor Luis Fortuño
·         Jenniffer González-Colón: Speaker of the House of Representatives
·         Thomas Rivera Schatz: President of Senate
·         Jorge Santini: Mayor of San Juan
·         Héctor O'Neill: Mayor of Guaynabo
·         Zoraida F. Fonalledas: National Committeewoman – Republican Party Of Puerto Rico
·         Mario Gaztambide: Treasurer – Republican Party Of Puerto Rico
·         Héctor Ramos: Legal Counsel Republican Party Of Puerto Rico         
·         Hon. José Torres Zamora: State Legislator – Chair, House Republican Caucus
·         Hon. Vanessa Viera: Deputy Secretary Of The State Department Of Puerto Rico
·         Hon. Luis Gerardo Rivera Marín: Secretary Of The Department Of Consumer Affairs – Deputy Legal Counsel – Republican Party Of Puerto Rico
·         Gloria Escudero: President – National Federation Of Republican Women - Puerto Rico Chapter
·         Luis Carlos Maldonado: President – Federation Of Municipal Legislators
·         Jorge San Miguel: Deputy Director For Federal Affairs – Republican Party Of Puerto Rico
·         Andrés Guillemard, Sr.:  President: Lone Star Insurance Producers, Inc.
·         Antonio Hernández: Deputy Legal Counsel – Republican Party Of Puerto Rico
·         Eduardo Emanuelli: Insurance Broker – Carrion, Laffitte & Casellas Insurance Company
·         Mario Gaztambide
·         Héctor Ramos
·         José Torres Zamora
·         Vanessa Viera
·         Luis Gerardo Rivera Marín
·         Gloria Escudero
·         Luis Carlos Maldonado
·         Jorge San Miguel
·         Andrés Guillemard, Sr
·         Antonio Hernández
·         Jenniffer González Colón
·         Abel Nazario Quiñones
·         Thomas Rivera Schatz
·         Jorge Santini
·         Marcos Rodríguez-Ema
·         José Carrión
·         Excer Rivera
·         Jaime Fonalledas
·         Antonio  Larrea
·         Ricardo Aponte Parsi
Alternate Delegates:
·         Mercedes Rivera
·         Lolita Semidey
·         Luis Felipe Ramos
·         Annie Mayol
·         Ignacio Echenique
·         Rosana Roig
·         Héctor  Dávila
·         Arlene Duteil
·         Ernesto Rodríguez
·         Carmín Luz Berríos
·         Elías Sánchez
·         Rina González
·         Javier Capestany
·         Daniel Ballori
·         Gerardo  Martínez
·         Dohanie Sepúlveda
·         Otoniel Cruz Carillo
·         José R. Izquierdo II
·         Velmarie Berlingeri
·         Jaime Barreto