PRESS RELEASE from Romney for President


CONTACT: Romney Press Office

June 20, 2011



Boston, MA – Mitt Romney today announced his Idaho Statewide Steering Committee, including his Statewide Co-Chairmen, Governor Butch Otter and United States Senator Jim Risch.

“I am proud to have the support of so many Idaho leaders,” said Mitt Romney. “They will help spread my message to Idaho voters of creating jobs, balancing our budget, and reversing President Obama’s failed policies.”

“Mitt Romney has the experience needed to grow the economy and create jobs,” said Governor Butch Otter. “President Obama’s policies have led to more job losses and have failed to pull the country out of the economic downturn.”

Announcing his support, Senator Jim Risch said, “Mitt Romney’s record of job creation stands in contrast to President Obama’s failed policies that have led to more job losses. We need a President with experience creating jobs – Mitt Romney has that experience.”

Background On Mitt Romney’s Idaho Statewide Co-Chairmen:

Governor Butch Otter Was Elected In 2006 And Reelected In 2010. Before being elected Governor, Otter represented Idaho’s 1st Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives and was elected as Idaho’s Lieutenant Governor for four terms and previously served two terms in the Idaho House of Representatives. Otter has over thirty years of experience working in the private sector.

U.S. Senator Jim Risch Was Elected In 2008. Risch currently sits on five Senate committees, including the Energy and Natural Resources Committee and the Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship. Prior to his election to the U.S. Senate, Risch served Idaho as Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and State Senator.  In addition to being a successful rancher and attorney, Senator Risch also operates several small businesses.

Members of Mitt Romney’s Statewide Steering Committee:

•             U.S. Representative Mike Simpson

•             Lieutenant Governor Brad Little

•             Secretary of State Ben Ysursa

•             Superintendent of Public Schools Tom Luna

•             State Controller Donna Jones

•             Attorney General Lawrence Wasden

•             Senate Pro Tempore Brent Hill

•             Speaker of the House Lawerence Denney

•             Senate Majority Leader Bart Davis

•             Assistant Senate Majority Leader Chuck Winder

•             House Assistant Majority Leader Scott Bedke

•             House Caucus Chairman Ken Roberts