PRESS RELEASE from Republican Party of Iowa

For Immediate Release
Saturday, July 23, 2011

Iowa GOP State Central Committee Announces Straw Poll Ballot
9 candidates included on the ballot for the August 13 event

DES MOINES- With the Iowa Straw Poll just three weeks away, The Iowa GOP State Central Committee today released the ballot for the 2011 poll, scheduled to take place August 13 on the campus of Iowa State University.  The final ballot was decided at the 3rd quarter public meeting of the Committee.

            Those who reserved space at the Straw Poll were guaranteed to be on the ballot. Candidates who reserved space includeCongresswoman Michelle Bachman, Herman Cain, Congressman Thaddeus McCotter, Congressman Ron Paul, Governor Tim Pawlenty and Senator Rick Santorum.

            In addition to those who reserved space, Speaker Newt Gingrich, Governor Jon Huntsman and Governor Mitt Romney were included on the ballot. A write-in option will also be available. 

            The Iowa Straw Poll rules, including the ballot finalization process, were passed by the State Central Committee at the 2nd quarter meeting. The Iowa GOP extended invites to an exhaustive list of candidates and potential candidates to attend two meetings outlining the rules prior to the land allocation meeting on June 23.

            During a similar meeting in the 2007, the State Central Committee added Mayor Rudy Giuliani, Senator John McCain and Senator Fred Thompson to the ballot that included each of the candidates who reserved space. (Governor Mitt Romney, Governor Mike Huckabee, Senator Sam Brownback, Congressman Tom Tancredo, Congressman Ron Paul, Governor Tommy Thompson, Congressman Duncan Hunter and John Cox)


Ed. Note:  Interesting is the decision not to include potential candidates Gov. Rick Perry, who has been the subject of a huge amount of buzz recently, and former Gov. Sarah Palin, who has been seen as a possible candidate since the conclusion of the 2008 campaign.