Obama 2012 General Election Campaign Organization, Mississippi
Obama for America/Organizing for America  
|  832 North Congress St.  |  Jackson
MISSISSIPPI  |  Obama Main Page

(page updated April 6, 2013)
...for additions, corrections and other changes contact

facebook  |  twitter  |  state page

State Director  Kenya Collins

Started on the campaign as a full time volunteer leader in 2011.  State director of Students 4 DuPree and special events manager for the Johnny DuPree for Governor campaign, 2011.  Web and public relations coordinator for the Jackson Convention & Visitors Bureau, 2006-09.  Volunteered on Obama's 2008 campaign.  B.S. in elementary education from Jackson State University.  From Jackson, MS.

Five regions and 11 regional leads.  Focus was calls and trips to Florida.

Mississippi Democratic Party        +

Chairman  Rickey Cole

(elected chairman June 30, 2012; started in early Sept. 2012 at the close of the Democratic National Convention)  Executive director of the party under chairman Jamie Franks, announced Aug. 29, 2011.  Farmer; family farm near Ovett.  Candidate for Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce in 2007.  Founding President of Mississippi Policy Forum, a 501 (c) 3 non-profit.  Elected chairman of the Democratic Party of Mississippi on Aug. 18, 2001 and served until July 29, 2004.  Volunteer, activist and staffer on more than twenty political campaigns starting in 1982 including Guy Land for Treasurer in 1987 and Wayne Dowdy for U.S. Senate in 1988.  Attended Mississippi State University, 1984-87; president of the Young Democrats at Mississippi State University in 1985.  A seventh generation Mississippian; native of Jones County.

Jamie Franks
, elected July 2008, served as chairman to early Sept. 2012...
Partner at Wheeler & Franks Law Firm, P.C. and ShawnCoulson, LLP, a member of the ShawnCoulson Alliance.  Democratic nominee for Lieutenant Governor of Mississippi, 2007.  Member of Mississippi House of Representatives, 1996-2008.  J.D. from Mississippi College School of Law, 2000; B.A. from University of Mississippi, 1995.