Congressional Leadership - 2010

  2011 Edition

Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D) and Minority Leader John Boehner (R) in the House and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D) and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R) are key faces of their respective parties in Congress. Effective congressional leadership requires a particular temperament and set of skills. Then-Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist (R-TN) likened his job to "herding cats." Law-making is a messy business; the health care debate once again proved the adage that compares legislating to sausage-making.

House .

Minority Leader - John Boehner (OH)*

Minority Whip - Eric Cantor (VA)*

Chair, Republican Conference - Mike Pence (IN)*

Chair, Republican Policy Committee - Thaddeus McCotter (MI)*

Conference Vice-Chair - Kay Granger (TX)

Conference Secretary - John Carter (TX)

NRCC Chairman - Pete Sessions (TX)


Republican Study Committee

Speaker - Nancy Pelosi (CA)*

Majority Leader - Steny H. Hoyer (MD)*

Majority Whip - James Clyburn (SC)*

Democratic Caucus

Chair - John Larson (CT)
Vice Chair - Xavier Becerra (CA)

Assistant to the Democratic Leader - John Spratt (SC)

DCCC Chairman - Chris Van Hollen (MD)

Democratic Steering and Policy Committee

Co-Chair - Rosa DeLauro (CT)
Co-Chair - George Miller (CA)


Progressive Caucus

Blue Dog Coalition

Senate >

Minority Leader - Mitch McConnell (KY)*

Minority Whip - Jon Kyl (AZ)

Chair, Senate Rep. Conference - Lamar Alexander (TN)*

Vice Chair, Senate Rep. Conference - John Barrasso (WY)** 

Chair, Rep. Policy Comm. - John Thune (SD)*

NRSC Chairman - John Cornyn (TX)


Majority Leader - Harry Reid (NV)*

President Pro Tem - Daniel Inouye (HI)**

Assistant Democratic Leader - Dick Durbin (IL)

Vice Chair of the Conference - Charles E. Schumer (NY)

Sec. of the Conference - Patty Murray (WA)

DSCC Chairman - Bob Menendez (NJ)

Chair, Dem. Policy Committee - Byron Dorgan (ND)*

Chair, Steering and Outreach Committee - Debbie Stabenow (MI)*

Chairman of Committee Outreach - Jeff Bingaman; Chair of Rural Outreach - Blanche L. Lincoln; Chief Deputy Whip - Barbara Boxer

. .
**succeeded Sen. Lisa Murkowski (AK) in Sept. 2010 after she lost her primary.
*leadership page
**from June 28, 2010, succeeded Sen. Robert Byrd (WV)