PRESS RELEASE from Ron Paul 2012 Presidential Exploratory Committee via Business Wire
April 26, 2011

Ron Paul Launches Exploratory Committee, Names Iowa Leadership Team

DES MOINES, Iowa--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Congressman Paul today announced that he is forming an official Exploratory Committee to assess his options for the 2012 Presidential campaign.
 “Iowa has a special place in American politics, and Dr. Paul is very pleased to announce the launch of his Exploratory Committee in the capitol of the Hawkeye State”
Standing in Des Moines, Dr. Paul also introduced his Iowa leadership team. All three of Dr. Paul’s Chairmen are elected members of the Republican Party of Iowa’s State Central Committee, the 17-member Board of Directors of the Iowa GOP, and have served as leaders of Campaign for Liberty in Iowa.
The leadership team consists of:
Dr. Drew Ivers, Chairman - Drew Ivers, PhD, of Webster City has been an Iowa Republican activist for 35 years and was the Iowa Campaign Chairman for Congressman Paul in 2008. He was a District Chairman for Ronald Reagan’s campaign and was the Iowa Chairman for the presidential campaigns of Pat Robertson in 1988 and Pat Buchanan in 1996 and 2000. Dr. Ivers has chaired his county party and is a five-time delegate to the Republican National Convention. He is a United States Army combat-wounded purple heart-awarded Viet Nam veteran. Dr. Ivers earned his Master’s and Ph.D. from Iowa State University and is the holder of 7 patents as a plant geneticist. He also has a Master’s in Theological Studies and is an Elder in the Evangelical Free Church. Dr. Ivers was instrumental in the forming of the initial Christian Coalition in Iowa, which is known today as the Iowa Faith & Freedom Coalition.
David Fischer, Vice-Chairman - David Fischer of rural Polk County is the founder and President of Precision Research, Inc. He has served on his district Executive and Rules Committees, and is the longest-serving member of the Executive Committee for the Polk County GOP. Mr. Fischer has been a delegate to numerous Republican conventions - County, District, State, and National. He is a homeschool leader and has been an elected member of his Township Board since 2002. Mr. Fischer was a top graduate from Iowa State University’s College of Engineering, and is an experienced expert witness in the energy industry.
A. J. Spiker, Vice-Chairman - A. J. Spiker of Ames is a former Chairman, Co-Chairman, and Treasurer of the Story County Republican party. He has been a delegate to several county, district, and state GOP conventions and served on his district Executive, Rules, and Organization committees. Mr. Spiker is a Realtor and is a past President of the Ames Multiple Listing Service, Inc. He serves on the Ames Economic Development Commission Board of Directors and is an active member of St. Cecilia Catholic church and the Knights of Columbus.
“Iowa has a special place in American politics, and Dr. Paul is very pleased to announce the launch of his Exploratory Committee in the capitol of the Hawkeye State,” said Dr. Paul’s political director Jesse Benton. “We are also extremely proud to enjoy the support and leadership of Drew Ivers, David Fischer and A.J. Spiker. All three men are pillars of their communities and leaders of the Republican Party and will be tremendous assets as Dr. Paul makes his final decision about the 2012 Presidential campaign.”